Transport Ministry appoints chairmen for Penang and Langkawi ports

GEORGE TOWN: Former Penang state executive councillor Datuk Yeoh Soon Hin has been appointed the chairman of Penang Port Commission (PPC), and former PPC chairman Jeffrey Chew has been appointed chairman of Teluk Ewa port in Langkawi (PPCTE), effective Feb 20.

The tenure for both men would last three years until Feb 19, 2027.

A letter to Yeoh and Chew from Transport Minister Anthony Loke, sighted by The Star, said the appointment was in line with Section 5 (1) (a) of the Penang Port Commission Act.

Loke said His Majesty Sultan Ibrahim, King of Malaysia, consented to both appointments.

“With the appointments, we hope the PPC and PPCTE reach greater heights and contribute to the nation’s development,” added Loke in the separate letters.

PPC regulates PPCTE.

Yeoh was a former state tourism and creative economy committee chairman and a three-term Paya Terubong assemblyman.

He was appointed as Tourism Malaysia deputy chairman in October 2023.

Chew was appointed PPC chairman from 2018 to 2020 when the Pakatan Harapan government took over Putrajaya but stepped down after the collapse.